Past Events

May 14, 2018


Directors Guild of America Theater
110 W 57th Street btw Ave of the Americas and 7th Ave
New York, NY 10019


A screening of the Jury Selects films chosen by the CUFF jury and a presentation of awards.


(in screening order with CU writer/directors and lead producers noted)


Tail End of the Year

Writer/Director: Chieh Yang



Writer/Director: Mauricio Rivera Hoffmann



Writer/Director: Federico Spiazzi

Co-Writer: Fernanda Frotté

Producer: Federica Belletti


Our Albertinia

Writer/Director: Chantel Clark

Producer: Morgan Ackley



Writer/Director: Thais Drassinower

Producer: Sasha John


Nice Talking to You

Writer/Director: Saim Sadiq

Writer/Producer: Joseph Capotorto



(in alphabetical order with CU directors, writers and lead producers noted)

Del Rio

Writer/Director: Raj Trivedi

Producer: Brittany Northcross


Everything's Fine: A Panic Attack in D Major

Writer/Director: Zack Morrison

Producer: Taylor Ortega


God Never Dies (Dios Nunca Muere)

Writer/Director: Barbara Cigarroa

Producer: Julie O'Leary



Writer/Director: Suzanne Andrews Correa

Writer/Producer: Mustafa Kaymak



Writer/Director: Erlendur Sveinsson

Co-Writer: Connor Simpson

Producer: Daniel Raiffe


Moonwalk with Me

Writer/Director: Shelly Yo

Producer: Jamil Munoz


Que Sera Sera

Writer/Director: Mengwei Ma

Producer: Tianqi Zhuo


The Bee

Writer/Producer: Alexandria Ashley


Three Nights and a Goat (Tres Noches y Una Cabra)

Director: Nicolas Becerra

Writer: Ben Gottlieb

Producer: Jennifer Sciarra

2018 CUFF Jury Awards


​​Refinery29 Award for Best Film​ 


Writer/Director: Federico Spiazzi

Co-Writer: Fernanda Frotté

Producer: Fedrica Belletti


​​​​Vimeo Award for Best Director​

Saim Sadiq for

Nice Talking to You


The ​Adrienne Shelly Foundation Award for Best Female Director 

Thais Drassinower for



SimonSays Entertainment Award for Innovative Filmmaking​ 


Writer/Director: Mauricio Rivera Hoffmann


Big Sky Edit Visionary Film Award

Our Albertinia

Writer/Director: Chantel Clark

Producer: Morgan Ackley


GiGadgets Technology Award


Writer/Director: Nic Yulo

Producer: Mahak Jiwani


Best Producer Awards

Morgan Ackley for

Our Albertinia


Joseph Capotorto for 

Nice Talking To You


Best Producer Honorable Mention

Alexandria Ashley for

The Bee


​Richard Brick Award for Special Distinction in Line Producing 

Daniel Raiffe for



Richard Haber Award for Comedy

Nice Talking To You

Writer/Director: Saim Sadiq

Writer/Producer: Joseph Capotorto


​​Alex Sichel Fellowship

Gina Hackett


Milos Forman Directing Fellowships

Nathalie Alvarez Mesen

Mariana Saffon


The Michael Hausman/FilmHaus Foundation Award

Taylor Mendonca


Arthur Krim Memorial Awards

Lauren Lopez de Victoria

Kristy Richman




Program A

Talent Night at Auschwitz: Bunk Five

Writer/Director Max Rifkind-Barron

Producer Alex Peace


Program B


Writer/Director Erlendur Sveinsson

Co-Writer Connor Simpson

Producer Daniel Raiffe


Program C

Everything's Fine: A Panic Attack in D Major

Writer/Director Zack Morrison

Producer Taylor Ortega


Program D


Director Bianca Catbagan

Writer Chantel Clark

Producer Jabari McDonald


Program E

Nice Talking to You

Writer/Director Saim Sadiq

Writer/Producer Joseph Capotorto


Program F

God Never Dies (Dios Nunca Muere)

Writer/Director Barbara Cigarroa 

Producer Julie O’Leary


Program G

Rust in Peace

Writer/Director Will Welles

Producer Ilan Amouyal